The juries for the 63rd Seminci will feature prestigious industry figures

17/10/2018.- The 63rd Valladolid International Film Festival will welcome internationally renowned figures from the audiovisual sector to its six official juries: International, Meeting Point, Time of History, DOC. Spain, Shorts from Castile and León and Green Spike. In addition, this edition will be attended by other juries established by various organisations and groups which will award prestigious parallel prizes, such as the Youth Award and the Fipresci International Critics’ Prize.

The International jury will be composed of Portuguese director Miguel Gomes, in the role of president; Argentine filmmaker Lucía Cedrón; Spanish actress Bárbara GoenagaInge de Leeuw (Holland) and Marta Menyei (Hungary), programmers at International Film Festival Rotterdam and the Hungarian National Film Fund’s International Department respectively, and Spanish scriptwriter, director and producer Manuel Pérez Estremera.

Miguel Gomes, Lucía Cedrón, Bárbara Goenaga, Inge de Leeuw, Marta Bényei y Manuel Pérez Estremera






The Meeting Point jury will be made up of German distributor and programmer Cosima Finkbeiner, Portuguese director Manuel Mozos, and Argentine filmmaker Clarisa Navas.

Cosima Finkbeiner, Manuel Mozos y Clarisa Navas

The Time of History section will feature a jury comprising directors Emanuele Garosa (Italy) and Eduardo Trías (Spain) and Portuguese programmer Ricardo Vieira.

Emanuele Gerosa, Eduardo Trías y Ricardo Vieira

The members of the jury for DOC. Spain are directors Fèlix Colomer and Polo Menárguez and photography director Raquel Fernández, while the jury for the Shorts from Castile and León section will be made up of Esther Cabero, coordinator of the Kimuak programme for promoting and distributing Basque short films, and directors Belén Santos and Felipe Vega.

Finally, the jury for the Green Spike will be made up of David Baute, director of the Canary Islands International Environmental Film Festival; Agencia EFE journalist Arturo Arena, an expert on environmental topics; Mónica Parrilla, director of the Forest Fires campaign and coordinator of the Gender Team at Greenpeace; Elvira Cámara, regional coordinator of Ecologists in Action, and Carmen Duce, an industrial engineer and technician at the Department of International Development Cooperation at the University of Valladolid.

Other juries

The jury for the FIPRESCI International Critics’ Prize, organised by the International Federation of Film Critics, will feature film journalists Ernesto Diez-Martinez (Mexico), Eero Tammi (Finland), Katharina Dockhorn (Germany) and Abraham Domínguez (Spain).

The Youth Award jury, a prize awarded by Valladolid Local Youth Council, will be made up of Gabriel Raposo SainzNoelia Toríbio GarciaÁlvaro Alonso AlcaldeAna Torres and Juan Javier Cascón Rivas (Official Section) and Inés Rodriguez FernandezCarla RicoEstefanía Álvarez de la VegaAdrián Pascual Moreno and Veronica Álvarez de la Vega (Meeting Point).

The jury for the Critics’ Golden Blogo Prize, awarded by the Asociación Premios de Cine Blogos de Oro (Golden Blogo Film Awards Association), will be composed of bloggers Daniel Farriol (Universo Cinema), Jacobo Salgado (35 Milímetros) and Eduardo Gil (Cinemagavia).

The jury for the Rainbow Spike, a prize organised in collaboration with Cinhomo – International Festival of Cinema and Sexual Diversity from the Fundación Triángulo, is made up of José Domingo Castaño BuenoDafne Calvo MiguelMiriam Vicente CuéllarMaría Lourdes Sánchez Pérez and Yolanda Rodríguez Valentín.

The jury for the Dunia Ayaso Prize from the Fundación SGAE will reward the film which, as well as having significant cinematographic value, features female characters with a leading role in the plot or portrays the situation of women in society, and will be composed of Natalia MorenoGiovanna Ribes and artistic director Marta Villar.

Finally, the 2018 Sociograph Award for the most impactful film of the 63rd edition of Seminci will be presented for the fourth consecutive year. This initiative monitors the emotions of a group of viewers of the films competing in the Official Section and rewards the film which has the biggest impact on the public.

Posted in 63rd Seminci, Jury.