‘Genèse,’ by the Canadian Philippe Lesage, wins the Golden Spike

The film also received the award to the Best Director and to the Best Actor to Théodore Pellerin

In Den Gängen and The Miseducation of Cameron Post share the Silver Spike Award

The International Jurt also gave awards to the films Nanook, Woman At War, The Guilty and Land Imagined, as well as the Golden Spike to the short film Cadavre exquis

Philippe Lasage, Golden Spike’s winner

27/10/2018.- The film Genèse (Genesis) has received the Golden Spike Award of the 63rd edition of the Valladolid International Film Festival. Not only did they win the most important award of the festival, but also the awards to the Best Director to Philippe Lasage and the Best Actor to the main character, Théodore Pellerin. Genèse is the third feature film made by the filmmaker, after The Demons (2015) and Copenhague A Love Story (2016).

In Genèse, Philippe Lesage tells a story, with an autobiographical character, about the feelings of three teenagers and their determination to affirm their right to love and be free. Guillaume, a 16-year old student, is in love with his best friend Nicolassu; his stepsister Charlotte, heartbroken after her relationship with a boy her age called Maxime, meets Theo, a man who is almost 30 years old; and Felix, whose feelings towards Beatrice, a girl who went to the same summer camp as him, are reciprocated.

International Jury

The International Jury was formed by the Portuguese director Miguel Gomes; the Argentinian filmmaker Lucía Cedrón; the Spanish actress Bárbara Goenaga; Inge De Leeuw (The Netherlands), who programmed the International Film Festival Rotterdam; Marta Bényei (Hungary), who works for the International Department of the Hungarian National Film Fund; and finally the Spanish scriptwriter, director and producer Manuel Pérez Estremera. They awarded the Silver Spike ex aequo to the feature films In Den Gängen (In the Aisles), the third movie of German director Thomas Stuber, and to The Miseducation of Cameron Post, by American director Desiree Akhavan.

In Den Gängen is the story of Christian, a shy and solitary man who starts working for a wholesale warehouse. Bruno, the man responsible for the beverage aisle takes him under his wing and quickly turns into a friend who is also a bit of a father figure. Marion is in charge of the sweets aisle, and Christian falls in love with her, even though his feelings are unrequited. In Den Gängen is the third feature film made by Thomas Stuber, after Teenage Angst (2008) and Herbert (2015).

The Miseducation of Cameron Post (U.S.A.) is the second film by Desiree Akhavan, and with which she received the U.S. dramatic grand jury prize at the Sundance Film Festival. Cameron Post is a teenager who lives with her Christian aunt after losing her parents in a car accident. After being caught with another girl in the back seat of her car, she’s sent to God’s Promise, an organisation that cures same sex attraction. Desiree Akhavan, film director, producer, scriptwriter and actress of Iranian and American origin, made her debut in 2014 with the feature film Appropriate Behavior.

‘Pilar Miró’ Award for Milko Lazarov

Milko Lazarov

The ‘Pilar Miró’ Award to the Best New Director went to the Bulgarian director Milko Lazarov for his second feature film Ága, a co-production between Bulgaria, Germany and France. The protagonist is Nanook, a reindeer hunter, and Sedna, his wife; they reside in the tundra, living by the traditions of their ancestors.

Halldóra Geirhardsdóttir received the Award to Best Actress for her work inOna Ferístrid (Woman At War), by Benedikt Erlingsson (France/Iceland/The Ukraine). The Miguel Delibes Award to the Best Script was granted to Den Skyldige (The Guilty) by Gustav Möller, and the Award to the Best Director of Photography went to A Land Imagined, a co-production from Singapur, France and the Netherlands by director Yeo Siew Hua.

In the short film section, Cadavre exquis, by French directors Stéphanie Lansaque and François Leroy was awarded the Golden Spike and the Award to the Best European Short Film. The Silver Spike went to the Polish production Drzenia (Tremors) by Dawid Bodza.

Meeting Point

Malene Choi

The jury of the Meeting Point section gave the Best Feature Award to The Return by Malene Choi (Denmark. South Korea). The Prize to the Best Foreign Short film went to Totul e foarte departe (Everything is far Away) by Romanian director Emanuel Párvu. Also, within this section, the award ‘Spanish Short Film Night’, went to Gusanos de seda (Silkworms) by Carlos Villafaina.

 Time of History

The First Time of History Prize was awarded to the feature film Libre (To The Four Winds) by Michael Toesca (France). The Second Prize went to Our New President by Maxim Pozdorovkin (USA/Russia). As for the short films competing in this section, the winner was the French short film Un monde sansbêtes (Facind the Beast) by Emma Benestan and Adrian Lecouturier.

DOC. Spain

This section dedicated to Spanish documentaries awarded its First Prize to Morir para contar (Dying to Tell) by Hernán Zin, who worked as a war reporter for twenty years and as a consequence suffered from depression. He then turned to other journalists for answers; they, like him, went through trauma, loss and fear.

Seminci Short Film From Castile and Leon

The jury from this Short Film from Castile and Leon section gave their award to Ángel caído by Fran Parra. The Young Seminci Award, decided by the votes of young people from 12 to 18 years of age, went to Love, Simon by the American Greg Berlanti.

Green Spike

The Green Spike, awarded for the first time in this edition, went to the feature film Ága, by Milko Lazarov, because it is the movie that best represents the environmental values of this 63rd edition. The jury also gave a special mention to the Canadian feature film Youth Unstoppable by director Slater Jewell-Kemker.

Audience Award

Actress Shahira Fahmy and A.B. Shawky

The Audience Award of the Official Section, organised by the local newspaper El Norte de Castilla, went to Mi Obra Maestra (My Masterpiece) by the Argentinian Gastón Duprat. And as for Meeting Point, the most voted title was Yommedine by A.B. Shawky.


The Fipresci Jury (International Federation of Film Critics) awarded their prize to the feature film La Chute de l’empire américain (The Fall of the American Empire) by the Canadian Denys Arcand.

Other awards

The Rainbow Spike was awarded to the Venezuelan film Yo imposible (Me, Impossible) directed by Patricia Ortega. The jury also decided to give a special mention to the short film Prisoner of Society by Rati Tsiteladze (Georgia), a short film from the Time of History section.

The winner of the Dunia Ayaso Award, from the SGAE Foundation, was the movie Carmen y Lola. This prize recognises films where female characters are the main protagonists, as is the case with these two young teenagers who appear in this tape directed by Arantxa Echevarría.

The Young Jury of the Official Section awarded their prize to the feature film The Miseducation of Cameron Post by the director Desiree Akhavan, and the corresponding jury in the Meeting Point section rewarded the Egyptian film Yomeddine, by A.B.Shawky.

The Miseducation of Cameron Post

The jury of the Golden Blogos Award, which has been given for the second year in this festival, went to the Danish film Den Skyldige (The Guilty).

The film In Den Gängen (In the Aisles), by Thomas Stuber, won the Sociograph Award 2018 to the film with the greatest impact among the audience, from all the movies screened in the Official Section. This prize has been awarded for the fourth consecutive year.

Posted in 63rd Seminci.