Coixet’s ‘The Bookshop’ opens the 62nd Seminci

The edition that starts tomorrow offers 230 titles, 50 daily screenings, and more than 35 film sessions over eight days


10/20/2017.- Tomorrow the Valladolid International Film Festival (Seminci) will raise the curtain on its 62nd edition with the world premiere of The Bookshop, the new film by director Isabel Coixet. This will give way to a week of cinema with more than 350 sessions over eight days, and fifty film screenings daily. Numerous international directors, producers, distributors, actresses, actors, and film industry professionals will witness the official opening of the Festival.

In addition to Isabel Coixet, the ceremony will be attended by two other filmmakers who will be taking part in the Official Section: British director Sally Potter, who will present The Party, and Polish director Joanna Kos-Krauze, who will compete with Ptaki spiewaja w Kigali [Birds Are Singing in Kigali]. The opening ceremony will be attended as well by Mexican director Arturo Ripstein and the Spanish actress Marisa Paredes, who will receive Seminci’s Spike of Honor that night.

Other illustrious filmmakers will be in Valladolid for the festival– including the Colombian director Sergio Cabrera, winner of the Golden Spike of the 38th Week for La estrategia del caracol [The Snail’s Strategy]; the Slovak filmmaker Tereza Nvotová, who will participate in Meeting Point with the feature film Špína [Filthy]; and the German director Nele Wohlatz, who has two films participating in the festival– the short documentary Three Sentences About Argentina will be offered in Time of History, whereas the fictitious feature film El futuro perfecto [The Future Perfect], will be screened within the Supernovas cycle.

José Luis García Sánchez (©Antonio de Benito)

The Festival’s inauguration will also bring together many Spanish directors, such as José Luis García Sánchez, who will receive Seminci’s Spike of Honor on Monday; Gonzalo Suárez and Jordi Grau, who will participate in the cycle dedicated to celebrating 50 years of the Barcelona School of Film; Víctor García León (Selfie), Elena Martín (Julia Ist), and Pedro Aguilera (Demonios tus ojos [Sister of Mine]), whose films will be screened in Spanish Cinema; and, finally, the veteran director Fernando Colomo.

Full- and short-length filmmakers will also shine by participating in various sections. This is the case of José Antonio Blanco and Angel Parra, creators of Soul, and of the German filmmakers Peter Lataster and Petra Lataster-Czisch, who directed De Kindren Van Juf Kief [Miss Kiet’s Children], documentaries programmed in Time of History. This is also the case for short filmmakers Vibha Daryanani, Josevi García Herrero, Paula Palacios, Roberto Fernández Canuto, Xiaoxi Xu, Agostina Gálvez, Francisco Lezama, and Grzegorz Molda, whose works can be seen in the Meeting Point, Time of History, and Shorts from Castilla y León sections.

The 62nd edition’s Inauguration Gala, hosted by José Corbacho and Marta Nieto, will be brimming with prestigious performers, such as the Englishman Billy Nighy, star of The Bookshop; Teresa Gimpera and Serena Vergano, muses of the Barcelona School of Film; Santiago Alverú, star of Selfie; Julio Perillán, actor from Demonios tus ojos [Sister of Mine]; and Maria Isasi, star of films like Camarón [Camarón: When Flamenco Became Legend] and Salvajes [Savages]. The Calderón Theatre stage will welcome Ray Loriga, novelist, screenwriter, and film director of Spanish cinema; producer Emma Lustres; screenwriter and director Santiago Tabernero; French director and screenwriter Brice Cauvin; Claire Dobbin, the president of the Melbourne International Film Festival; and producer Uberto Pasolini, all of whom are members of the International Jury.

Calderón Theatre will also be graced by the likes of Serbian director and producer Stefan Ivančić, Palestinian actress Lamis Ammar, and Mexican producer Gerardo Morán, the members of the Meeting Point Jjury; as well as by the members of the Time of History jury, Guillermo García López, Nicolás Echevarría, and Diego Mas Trelles; and, lastly, by directors Leire Apellaniz and Tamara García Iglesias, with Maite Conesa, director of the Film Library of Castilla y León, who form the Doc. Spain jury.


Posted in 62nd Seminci.